75 years of MotoGP™

From our beginnings in 1949 as the first motorsport World Championship to the 2024 season celebrating 75 years of racing, the story of how MotoGP™ became the world’s most exciting sport is full of personalities, progress, innovation, ever-improving safety, increased sustainability and that pure adrenaline we all love. So whether you’ve been here from the start, come to see Valentino Rossi redefine the sport, watch Marc Marquez change the game again, or see the likes of Pecco Bagnaia and Fabio Quartararo racing to add their names to the history books, join us for the ride and get to know the legacy that built the pinnacle of two-wheeled motorsport: MotoGP™.

MotoGP™ News

75 years: MotoGP™ celebrates throughout 2024!

Read Now

75 Years at a Glance

The Grands Prix

We celebrated GP1000 at Le Mans in 2023, so by the start of 2024, there have been 1015 Grands Prix staged since the start of the World Championship in 1949, comprising 3371 races for solo classes. 30 countries have staged Grands Prix, with India the most recent addition and 2024 set to see Kazakhstan become country 31.

The Champions

126 riders have become World Champions – many more than once. The rider with most world titles is Giacomo Agostini with 15, followed by Angel Nieto (12 + 1), Mike Hailwood (9), Valentino Rossi (9) and Carlo Ubbiali (9). Another name could add theirs in 2024: Marc Marquez (Gresini Racing MotoGP™) has eight Championships on the way in…

The Winners

399 riders have won Grands Prix in solo classes – so reaching 400 in 2024 seems not only plausible or possible, but likely. The most recent maiden GP winner is Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) after his Moto3™ victory at Sepang.

The Manufacturers

With a long history in the sport, Honda is the most successful manufacturer in Grand Prix racing (across all solo classes) with 821 wins. Next up is Yamaha on 520. Aprilia complete the top three with 297 – with the majority all in the smaller classes as the Noale factory took their historic first premier class win in 2022.

Stats & Facts

Classics & Flashbacks

Riders & Legends